Schadenfreude for the outliers.

They wanted to extract information. There must be something I knew that was valuable to them.  Something that demanded they keep their black masks on and XM8’s loaded. I’m glad for the nebulous memories and fuzzy logic that filled my mind after the hit. I had nothing to say.

Everyone has information within them, don’t they? A path taken and a specialty learned. All so that it can be spewed and applied upon for the benefit of a few men in suits, the reservoir of everything green that lures, and I don’t mean nature. My information however was different. With the muzzle pointed at my temple,I couldn’t help but feel momentarily privileged. I must have utility beyond the common realm of man’s imagination. I was a threat and an enemy for stereotypes. As I stared I could see the golden bullet leave with an aim to eradicate the outliers. I was it’s aim and prey, and was privileged.

I woke up. A strong ache in my head. I had to leave for work, joining the rest, to please the men in suits, to stay alive.

_________

Schadenfreude is a German word meaning ‘pleasure derived from the misfortunes of others’.

Far too many talented individuals have had trouble going off the beaten path in the past. It seems like there are so many examples of these successful entrepreneurs today, but having recently read about failure stories (Which are far far higher than the successes, as one would imagine), it’s sad how many super talented people had to succumb to pursuing a life of following the herd instead of their dreams. It’s tough and amazing to have a dream, distinct from the norm, and I can only imagine the grit and talent that people who manage to actually execute them, possess.

Leave a Reply

