Creating my new portfolio – WebDev 101

I have always picked up bits and pieces of coding of all sorts since high school. The pieces never got to assimilate to provide me with enough confidence in my web development skills though.

Since undergrad I have been ‘trained’ to be a UX designer, which included a higher aesthetic appreciation for the usage of every pixel on any screen, but never really much about coding those pixels into place.

Whether a UX designer is to be limited to only curating and outlining experiences or should he/she also be able to get his/her hands dirty by coding prototypes out is quite debatable.

Nevertheless, a couple of months ago, I set out to re-learn the tools that would help in sharpening my web development skills.

I soon realized that I did not need a book, given the vast resources available online. I would like to share the links to what helped me over the past two months:

General

The web developer roadmap

Stack-overflow (Of course)

W3Schools (The cheapest and best way to learn the basics)

HTML5 / CSS3

Google Code University – HTML, CSS, and Javascript from the Ground Up

CSS Tricks (This site proposes multiple pure-CSS solutions for every CSS related question you may have)

Lynda.com – CSS (Subscribing to classes on Lynda.com costs about $32 a month, but it was worth every cent to me! )

HTML5 for dummies (Good tips here, scattered all through the book)

JavaScript ( & jQuery)

Douglas Crockford’s JS videos (Just sit through these. You are bound to learn a thing or two)

Codecademy – JS Fundamentals (Free, intuitive, magnificent)

.appendTo (Video series for JS and jQuery –  Very organized and well instructed)

Great references:

Mozilla Developer Network (very well documented for JS and CSS)

jQuery main site

Though befitting knowledge sources seem to vary a lot from person to person, I hope the above links are of some help to someone out there.

I used the above online resources to continue learning and refine what I knew, but the best way to learn is to just dive in and try to create something from the ground up!

I tried doing that and re-created my site last weekend using CSS/HTML?JS (jQuery). You can find it here:

www.vikramchatterji.com

If YOU sir/madam, my occasional reader, could spare a moment and provide some feedback and/or criticism for my portfolio, I would really appreciate it so that I can improve upon it further.

Leave a Reply

